Director’s Cut Director Post -production Journal

Summary

During post production I edited the film, which was a new experience for me which allowed me to grow in the field of filmmaking.

Working with the Editor

Due to time constraints, I had to become the editor and edited the entire film.

Changes to the Script

The script was kept relatively the same to the final film, except for a few improvisations and cutting out a sequence. We decided to cut out a small sequence because we thought it was too similar to an other part of the film, and I wasn’t sure we would have time to film it. There was also several improvisations by the actors, including the final scene, which was originally just two lines. For the final scenes I just left the camera rolling and just let the scene play out naturally.

Final Cut

I was gone for the feedback from the professionals, however I did receive feedback from Carlson who said, “I enjoyed the story and the editing.”

Original Vision for the Film

From a technical point of view I wouldn’t say that my vision was achieved. The editing process was possible the roughest and most chaotic thing I experienced in this class all year. I would have liked to had better sound in the film, but because of my inexperience in editing and disorganization of our files, I had to make the choice to sacrifice clean audio for a more complete story and final edit. From an artistic standpoint, I would liked to use different locations. While the locations I picked worked and told our story correctly, I would have liked to use less plain locations. Instead of using the green room, I would have liked using an office with more decoration. Using a different location would have given certain shots more personality and allowed the film to stand out more.

What I Learned

Learned a lot about editing this time, specifically about DaVinci Resolve. I had played around with DaVinci Resolve before, but my workflow and understanding of the program has benefitted greatly from my editing experience. Now that I have gotten past that first threshold of learning the program, I may even try re-editing the film just for fun and more experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *