Director’s Cut Film Production – Director’s Journal

Summary

Production Notes for Each Day of Shooting

Date4/244/254/264/274/285/15/25/35/45/5
Run the SET during the production phase by keeping all CREW INFORMED and ON SCHEDULEOur planned schedule had been thrown off because of the lock-inAbsent, called and told team schedule for the next dayI told the time what was happening the previous day and kept to that schedule It could have gone better running the set, It was the first day in the hallway and with a full crew
Instruct ACTORS on BLOCKING, PERFORMANCE, LINE DELIVERY.We filmed a few test shots, no technical acting was done, but directions on blocking were given.AbsentInstructed Henry on how I wanted him to react specifically with the volume of his lines.
Call for the start and end of each take by saying “standby”, “roll camera”, “action” and “cut”.No, as both director and cinematographer I was filming the test shots mostly for practice and since no acting was really done I didn’t call for the start and end of the take. AbsentI called for sound to start and announced when I began filming with the camera and called for action and cut.
Ensure that the other key roles (primarily camera and sound) have OBTAINED CLEAR IMAGE and SOUND from the scene.As the cinematographer I would view the shot as it was being filmed an no sound was recorded.AbsentNate had to fill in as the sound designer on that day, so I made sure that audio was recording well even more than usual.
Make DECISIONS about when to move on to shoot the next scene.I only planned to practice a singular shot, and didn’t move on from it.Absent We only filmed one shot, which I planned on for continuity and location purposes.
Write PRODUCTION NOTES for each day of shooting-before and after: a SET OF EXPECTATIONS for the day and a LIST OF WHAT WAS ACHIEVED or NOT ACHIEVED; notes on WAYS TO SOLVE PROBLEMS.I didn’t write any notes down.Absent I didn’t write any notes down.
Produce NOTES for post-production regarding LENGTH OF SCENE, GOOD/BAD SHOTS and other NOTEWORTHY ELEMENTS to be handled in post-production.These were test shots, which were not going to be put in the final film so I didn’t write any notes.Absent No, the last take was the only good take that we got, so I didn’t take notes on which take to use.For almost every shot I went with the last take, on the few shots I wanted to use a previous take I always noted it on the script.

On-Going Discussions with Film Team

9. I messaged and communicated about the film to my teammates

10. I assured that the location was left as is by not modifying the location in any way so it would remain the same.

11. I assured that nobody was hurt, my evidence of that is the amount of injuries being zero.

What I Learned

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *